Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

Virginia: Loudoun County Board to Consider Overly-Restrictive Discharge Ordinance

Thursday, June 21, 2018

Virginia: Loudoun County Board to Consider Overly-Restrictive Discharge Ordinance

Today, the Loudoun County Board of Supervisors will meet regarding a Board Member Initiative to increase the minimum distance that an individual must be from an occupied structure when discharging a firearm. The proposed distance change from 100 yards to one-half mile is completely unreasonable and could include unintended activities such as hunting and target shooting.  Please contact the Loudoun County Board of Supervisors and urge them to OPPOSE the change in the current ordinance.  Click the “Take Action” button below to contact the board.

The proposed change would prohibit the discharge of a firearm within 800 yards of an occupied structure without prior approval from the landowner.  This could result in a de facto ban on hunting and target shooting in Loudoun County.  While the NRA condemns negligent discharge of a firearm, the proposed change will only negatively impact law-abiding hunters and gun owners in the area.  These distances are too long and could rule out hunting or target shooting in many areas where occupied structures exist within 800 yards of each other, including on an individual’s own private land.  Further, because consent from owners of occupied structures is required, it could allow a neighbor to prevent hunting or target shooting within a half mile regardless of land ownership.  If you are able, please attend this meeting and voice your strong opposition to this ordinance.

Board of Supervisors Meeting
Thursday, June 21 at 5:00pm
Board Room
1 Harrison Street, SE
Leesburg, VA 20175 

Again, please contact the Loudoun County Board of Supervisors and urge them to OPPOSE this restrictive ordinance.

Loudoun County Board of Supervisors:
Board Phone: 703-777-0204

Chair Phyllis Randall
Phyllis.Randall@loudoun.gov

Vice Chair Ralph Buona
ralph.buona@loudoun.gov

Supervisor Suzanne Volpe
suzanne.volpe@loudoun.gov

Supervisor Tony Buffington, Jr.
Tony.Buffington@loudoun.gov

Supervisor Ron Meyer
Ron.Meyer@loudoun.gov

Supervisor Geary Higgins
Geary.Higgins@loudoun.gov

Matthew Letourneau
Matt.Letourneau@loudoun.gov

Supervisor Kristen Umstattd
Kristen.Umstattd@loudoun.gov

Supervisor Koran Saines
Koran.Saines@loudoun.gov

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.